

## Department of Energy Savannah River Operations Office P.O. Box A Aiken, South Carolina 29802

Dr. Marolyn Parson, Chairperson Savannah River Site Citizens Advisory BoardAN 0 5 2015 PO Box A Aiken, South Carolina 29802

Dear Dr. Parson:

SUBJECT: Citizens Advisory Board (CAB) Recommendation Number 324 – L-Basin Cob Webs: Potential Impact of Deep Geologic Storage

Thank you for your recommendation on the potential impact of "cobweb" material on deep geologic storage.

Department of Energy (DOE) cannot accept this recommendation.

As you indicated in your recommendation, similar bacterial colonies have been identified in various commercial reactors. The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is responsible for establishing the requirements of a Spent Nuclear Fuel (SNF) repository. The NRC would be responsible for establishing any criteria regarding bacterial associated with SNF destined for a repository.

The "cobweb" material found in L-Basin was a very diverse bacterial colony. The bacteria was vacuumed from the tops of the fuel racks in L-Basin and is no longer visible in the water or on tops of the fuel racks. There is no evidence at this time that the bacteria remains in L-Basin and no indication that it is associated with the SNF contained within the storage bundles. The site will continue its normal surveillance activities within L-Basin to determine if the colony returns. The bacterial colony will be removed if and when it is identified.

The Department values the CAB's position on the Savannah River Site programs and understands the CAB's concerns regarding this bacterial colony; however, DOE Office of Environmental Management must place priority on the mission of safe receipt, storage and disposition (where possible) of SNF within the SNF Program.

If you have any questions, please contact me or have your staff contact Patrick McGuire (803) 208-3927.

Sincerely,

David C. Mordy

David C. Moody Manager

NMPD-15-0031

Dr. Parson

cc:

Kristen Ellis, (EM-3.2), DOE-HQ David Borak, (EM-3.2), DOE-HQ Jeff Williams, (NE), DOE-HQ Christopher Hansen, (NE), DOE-HQ Gary Deleon, (EM-22), DOE-HQ Sandra Waisley, DDFO, DOE-SR Angela Adams, DDFO, DOE-SR Catherine Templeton, SCDHEC Gwen Keys, U.S. EPA Sean Hayes, GADNR